School History

College Begins Here

St. Mary of the Assumption School is an LC-8th grade, eighteen classrooms, educational facility which is located in Uptown Whittier, California. It is part of St. Mary’s Parish and under the jurisdiction of the Archdiocese of Los Angeles.

St. Mary’s opened in 1923 with an enrollment of one hundred seven (107) pupils in grades one through six. It was staffed by the Dominican Sisters of Houston, Texas. 

In October 1, 1987, the city of Whittier experienced an earthquake that caused major damage to the building on Pickering Avenue. This building contained many classrooms, including the library, health room, music room, and science room. This building was condemned and demolished. The convent was also demolished. Construction began on this site to replace the demolished building.

In 2010, the Learning Center opened to meet the needs of pre-kindergarten students. An arts program was also established to give students the opportunity to explore the arts. Murals were painted throughout the school and plants were purchased to bring green to the school. In addition, new televisions were installed in the 4-8 grade classrooms. Currently, the school offers a comprehensive Spanish program and an updated technology program featuring one device per student. 

St. Mary’s has a strong tradition of providing a spiritual, loving, and challenging place for students to grow in every aspect of their lives. The school seeks to keep this tradition alive through the tireless dedication of its talented and caring faculty and staff. As well as the endless support from clergy, parents, and the community.

Saint Mary's School

7218 S. Pickering Ave. Whittier, CA 90602

(562) 698-0253

Accredited